Flourless Dark Chocolate Cake with Salted Caramel Sauce

Hey guys! 🙂 I’m back. And by back I mean I’m done with college and a GRADUATE now! How and when did that happen? Since a picture is worth a thousand words, here’s one that perfectly captures all my feelings right now:

Screenshot_2013-10-03-11-58-30-1

 

But one thing I do have some idea of is what I made today! This recipe was so much fun to test (okay, taste!). It is decadent, rich and so fudgy. It is super simple. In fact, I made it twice in four days because it appealed to the lazy in me. It has only three utterly important ingredients, the rest are optional. But of course I couldn’t leave it at that, so I made a salted caramel sauce and salted caramel whipped cream. I also added some crunchy muesli for a texture variation.

P1070477

 

Oh, I almost forgot. My blog completed a year of existence! On 15th May, 2013 I created this blog so as to keep my mind busy. Thinking about the next blog post helped drown out all the extra noise in my head, and helped me focus on what really matters: creating things. So thank you, whoever has been reading these posts 🙂 Every time I see a new view, or new like, my heart literally skips a beat and I get all happy and stuff! It truly does make a difference.

Flourless dark chocolate cake:

I used bittersweet chocolate here, because I didn’t want it to be too sweet and wanted a strong chocolate flavour. The coffee and salt are not discernible; they are here to give a certain je ne sais quoi to the chocolate and really let the flavour shine.

Makes: 6 cupcake sized portions, Duration: 25 minutes + cooling

Ingredients:

Bittersweet chocolate – 250gms

Butter – 50gms

Eggs, whole – 3

Strong coffee decoction – 10ml

Salt – a pinch

Method:

1.Pre-heat oven to 150 degree Celsius.

2.Chop up chocolate finely for quicker melting. Melt the chocolate and butter together over a double boiler (you can also use the microwave, but I prefer the bain-marie, mainly because I do not have to worry about scorching the chocolate).

3.In a separate bowl, beat the whole eggs till foamy. It should double in quantity. Add coffee and beat. In this recipe the egg foam acts as leavening. The air in the bubbles expands due to heat, causing the cake to rise. So make sure the bubbles are small, as they are more stable than bigger air bubbles.

P1070422

BLOG 2014note the difference: smaller bubbles on the left are what we need 

P1070427coffee a la Pollock 😛

4.Once the chocolate mixture has cooled, add a little egg mixture while beating to loosen the chocolate, making it more fluid. Now gently fold in the rest of the egg foam.

P1070433try not to eat the batter. at least not all of it!

5.Pour into moulds. Silicon moulds are ideal, because this batter STICKS! I used silicon, so I just had to peel it off. Cleaning was also easy. Alternatively, you can line a regular mould with parchment paper, or better, use cupcake liners. Pour almost all the way to the top. This batter rises, but goes flat upon cooling.

P1070430how adorable and bright are these?!

P1070443

6. Bake for 20-25 minutes, or till a skewer comes out ALMOST clean. It is preferable if the center is slightly undone, since it will set upon cooking and result in oh-so-heavenly fudginess. Let cool.

Salted caramel sauce:

Makes: About half a cup; Duration: 15 minutes

Ingredients:

Sugar – 100gms

Milk – 50ml

Butter – 10gms

Salt – to taste

Method:

1.Place sugar on heat, let it caramelize i.e turn golden.

BLOG 20141

2.Add butter. Careful, it sizzles! Mix till is combines.

3.Add milk, in two pours. Boil till all the lumps disappear.

4.Add as much salt as you like.

5.Reserve half for plating.

Salted caramel whipped cream:

Whipped cream – 50gms

Salted caramel – the remaining half

Method:

1.Mix both together.

Now assemble and voila!

P1070478 - Copy

P1070481a perfect bite… nomnomnom

And one more time, thank you so much for reading my blog 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “Flourless Dark Chocolate Cake with Salted Caramel Sauce

  1. Hey Neha,
    First of all, congratulations on your graduation. Wishing you success in all your endeavors.
    I just happened to browse through your blog and WOW. You are a superstar! You are doing a great job with blogging. Loved the one with the failed marshmallow fondant because that shows whatever be the outcome, you learn a lot from it.
    You just got yourself another fan.
    Two Thumbs Up!

    1. Thank you so much Sam! Your words mean a lot. I mean, they MADE my day 😀 I feel blessed to have wonderfully encouraging people like you in my life 🙂

what did you think?

