Salted Caramel Ice Cream 2.0

Hello, old friend(s). It’s been a while.

P1090195

I started this blog almost 3 years ago, and I must admit that over that time period, my interest in it has definitely waned a bit. I feel that along the way, my original intention for the blog (which was simply to record and share my experiments and ideas) changed and I became too caught up with creating what I thought the readers would like to read, instead of what really inspired me. I also kept comparing myself to other awesome blogs, and as you all know, comparison is the thief of joy. It put a lot of pressure on myself, and I just stopped writing.

However, now that my life is taking a new direction, I want it to reflect in my blog too. I think it is safe to say that this blog needs a fresh breath of life. It is time for change.

I realise that no one can do me as well as I can, so why compare? All I need to do is stay true to myself and be less harsh on myself. I recently saw this awesome Buzzfeed video, where they showed how it would be if we critiqued others the way we do to ourselves. It was eye opening. I imagined telling others the things I tell myself. Things like: you are not good enough, everybody has their life in order except you, you are not talented enough, your ideas are terrible, etc; I was horrified. What horrible things to tell anyone, especially yourself! Please, don’t do that to yourself (or anyone else, for that matter).

From this post onwards, I will try to be as clear with the instructions as I can; brevity be damned.

Now, what better way to kick off the rebirth of this blog  than by rebirthing one of the first recipes here: Caramel Ice Cream.  I call this recipe Salted Caramel Ice Cream 2.0.

It is always so much fun (and sometimes cringe worthy) to see how far along you have come.

Ingredients:

Egg yolks – 5
Sugar – 125gms
Double cream – 250ml
Milk – 250ml
Salt – 1 teaspoon (more or less, depending on your taste)
Vanilla extract – 1 teaspoon

Method:

  1. In a bowl, beat the egg yolks till light and pale. Set aside.P1090168
  2.  Reserve 3 tablespoons of sugar for the garnish. Place the rest of the sugar in a pan and place over medium heat; cook till it caramelises. Try not to stir it around. If you must move the sugar around, do so by swirling it in the pan. Always be careful when you handle caramel because it is very hot!
  3. The moment the sugar caramelises completely, turn off the heat and immediately add the cream. Be careful as it is extremely hot and will bubble up. Now add the milk, and heat till all the hard caramel has melted into the milk.
  4. Now carefully, while simultaneously stirring, add 1/3 of the hot caramel/milk mixture to the beaten yolks. Keep stirring to prevent curdling. Add the rest of the milk and mix well.
  5. Put this mixture back in the pan and cook on medium heat till it becomes thick and coats the back of a spoon. Be careful not to let it boil, or your custard will curdle.P1090186
  6. Take off the heat. Mix in the vanilla and salt. Make sure you add the salt little by little, tasting after each addition. Start with half teaspoon, and proceed from there. You can always add more, but you cannot take away once added. Strain it into a freezer safe bowl. Straining the mixture ensure a perfectly smooth end result. Tip: This custard is what you would call a creme anglaise. You could stop at this stage, and instead of freezing it, pour it warm or cold over desserts like cakes, puddings, etc. It is absolutely delicious.P1090185
  7. If you have an ice cream machine, use that. If you don’t (like me), simply freeze the mixture till it is almost frozen, then beat it smooth or put it in a blender till smooth. Then freeze again. Repeat this a couple of times.
  8. For the garnish, take the 3 tablespoons of sugar reserved from earlier, and caramelise it over medium heat. Let it thicken slightly, before making shapes with it on a baking paper, silicon sheet or aluminium foil. Let set before using as garnish. You could also sprinkle some flakes of sea salt on top, if you wish.P1090197
2 thoughts on “Salted Caramel Ice Cream 2.0

  1. Hey Neh… Or should I call you dessert zombie? 🙂
    My nephew who will be visiting soon is gonna adore me for whipping this out. Thank you for the step-by-step pictorial recipe and congratulations on the successful comeback/re-invention. Hope to see a lot more from you.
    Cheers dz.

    1. Thank you so much Same 🙂 Let me know how it turns out! It really means the world to me that you’re so supportive 😀

what did you think?

